New California Law Requires Carbon Monoxide Alarms in Homes
Carbon Monoxide Alarms - The California Carbon Monoxide Poisoning Prevention Act (Senate Bill 183) and the 2010 California Residential Code state that carbon monoxide alarms (detectors) must be installed on or before July 1, 2011, in single-family dwelling units.
Carbon monoxide (CO) is a colorless, odorless gas that is produced from heaters, fireplaces, furnaces and many types of appliances and cooking devices, according to the California Department of Forestry and Fire Protection. The gas can be fatal.
If your home does not currently comply with these carbon monoxide alarm requirements, these should be installed on every floor and outside each sleeping area immediately. Garages and basements should also have a carbon monoxide alarm installed.
As a community service, DAD’s Construction, a leading Orange County building and remodeling contractor, will install at their cost through August 31, 2011 battery operated carbon monoxide detectors in your South Orange County home. The cost is $49.11 each. These are made by Kidde® (a leader in CO detectors), have a loud 85 decibel alarm, and are backed by their 5 year manufactures limited warranty.
Protect your family and loved ones by calling DAD’s Construction today at (949) 380-0177 and schedule your carbon monoxide installations. You can also visit the DAD’s Construction web site at http://www.dadsconstruction.com.